Elite Junior Classic announces first wave of selections

By Craig Sager II
Photo courtesy of Sonny Kennedy

The second installment of the Elite Junior Classic is slated for December 29, 2014 and the selection process is well underway. Newly-hired Ware County head coach Franklin Stephens will be the South team head coach this year and his first 25 players have been confirmed.

Leading the offensive line is 6-foot-5, 270-pound tackle Chris Barnes. The Lee County lineman is already ranked as a composite four star and holds an offer from Ole Miss. Spalding’s Brodarious Hamm is a two-way star on the line at 6-foot-3, 292 pounds. Macon County’s Raymond Smith, Lowndes’ Tarik Adams and Jonesboro’s Jeffrey Taylor are guards. Veterans’ Nate Lee will likely take the center role at 6-foot-5, 305 pounds and he’ll be snapping to his teammate, Logan Byrd.

Byrd is the first South quarterback selected to this year’s Elite Junior Classic and the 6-foot-3, 229-pound passer is one of the top-ranked quarterbacks in the 2016 class. Byrd already holds offers from Duke, Illinois, Minnesota, Marshall and Charlotte among others.

Two receivers have been selected for the South team including Colquitt County’s Kiel Pollard. The rising junior has been catching touchdowns in the Packers offense since his freshman season. Maysoe Wiley is a towering 6-foot-4 wideout from Cook and is physically one of the top prospects in his class.

The South team snatched Jenkins running back Arkeem Byrd and will be able to utilize his ability to run and catch out of the backfield. During Byrd’s sophomore season with Jenkins he rushed for 598 yards off of 61 carries (9.8 yards per carry) and found the endzone eight times while adding three receiving touchdowns to his totals.

The South defense picked up 13 players in this first wave, including McEachern’s Julian Rochester. The 6-foot-5.5 defensive tackle is the top rated 2016 prospect in state and is currently the No. 3 prospect in the nation and a five star prospect according to 247sports’ composite rankings. Rochester has already received offers from Auburn, Georgia, Alabama, Clemson and Florida.


The North team is led by Norcross head coach Keith Maloof and will have Landmark Christian quarterback Stockton McGuire running the offense for much of the game. McGuire has started since his freshman season and leads the offense while participating on the cross country team and basketball team during the Eagles’ offseason.

Running back Jarvis Terrell was picked up by the North team and will be able to showcase just how fast he is against the elite competition. The all-purpose back has been outrunning his competitors since his freshman season with the Trojans and even blazed the turf at the MVP camp with a 4.39 40 last summer.

In the North secondary, Archer’s Dylan Singleton is one of four cornerbacks confirmed for the North team this year. Singleton is a composite four star athlete with offers from Duke and South Carolina.

The North’s first two wide receivers are a pair of Gwinnett standouts. North Gwinnett’s Josh Imatorbhebhe and Archer’s Kyle Davis are well-known prospects with a ton of offers. Josh’s older brother Daniel played for the North team last year in the Elite Junior Classic and they become the first siblings represented in the event. Daniel accepted his offer to Missouri this offseason and Josh already has piles of collegiate fan mail to search through. Missouri, Vanderbilt, Boston College, Kentucky, Michigan, Michigan State, Nebraska, Ohio State, California and Wake Forest have already offered the 6-foot-2 wideout and the two brothers will star in the 2013 Class AAAAAA finalist North Gwinnett’s potent passing attack this season. Davis holds offers from Boston College, Duke, Illinois, Iowa and Kentucky and is a versatile piece in the Tigers’ offense at 6-foot-3, 220 pounds.


Offensive Line

Chris Barnes – Lee Co.

Brodarious Hamm – Spalding

Nate Lee – Veterans

Jeffrey Taylor – Jonesboro

Raymond Smith – Macon Co.

Tarik Adams – Lowndes

Tight End

Mack Nash – Camden

Running Back

Arkeem Byrd – Jenkins

Wide Receiver

Kiel Pollard – Colquitt Co.

Maysoe Wiley – Cook Co.


Logan Byrd – Veterans

Defensive Line

Julian Rochester – McEachern

Deondre Garderhire – Camden

Ronald Wilson – Lee. Co.

Michael Carter – Jackson


Dedrick Mills – Ware Co.

Jarrod Jones – Westlake

Pippen Davis – Lamar

Antonio Leroy – Monroe

Defensive Back

Harrison Poole – Camden

Marquez Callaway – Warner Robins

Kyron Smith – Macon Co.

Nigel  Warrior – Westlake

Devon Henderson – Marietta


Jordan Griffin – Jonesboro


Offensive Line

James DeMatto – Kell

Alex Smith – Etowah

Running Back

Jarvis Terrell – Carrollton

Wide Receiver

Kyle Davis – Archer

Josh Imatorbhebhe – North Gwinnett


Stockton McGuire – Landmark Christian

Defensive Line

Ben Frazier – Buford

Tomon Fox – Collins Hill

Kobe Smith – Archer


Roury Glanton – Carrollton

Jacob Brashare – Dacula

Will Harper – Sandy Creek

Defensive Back

Dylan Singleton – Archer

Charlie Woerner – Rabun County

Kendrick Grady – Norcross

Javon Jackson – Sandy Creek