2015 National Team

Jalen Holston

Player Bio

Do you remember your first varsity start and how was it?
“Yes, it was the first game of my sophomore year and we were playing Central High School who was a top three team in Alabama.”

Have you played running back your entire life and what made you want to play running back?
“No, when I first started playing football I was a defensive guy because I loved contact. Watching college and NFL games seeing how the running backs played and scored touchdowns made me want to do the same thing as them.”

What is your best asset as a running back and who do you model your style after?
“As a running back I would think I’m very versatile. I can catch out the backfield, pick up blocks, run to the outside and get between the tackles. I model my style after Le’Veon Bell.”

Who is the most influential person in your life?
“My mom.”

How many brothers and sisters, what ages and do they play sports?
“I have one brother and six sisters from the ages of 16 to 24. I’m the only one who plays a sport.”

Parents name and did they play sports in college?
“Johann Holston and Edith Darden; my dad did gymnastics.”

Do you do any work in the community?
“Yes, I participate in helping my church every week. I get as much volunteer work as I can during the off season and Saturday mornings.”

What colleges have shown interest in you/offered you?
“Charlotte and Florida have offered me. UGA, Florida State, Georgia Southern, Georgia State, Auburn, Arkansas, Kentucky, Purdue, Middle Tennessee, Mississippi State, Michigan State, South Alabama and Oklahoma have shown interest in me.”

What do you want to study in school?
“Sports medicine.”

What has been your best football memory?
“Every moment that involves football is special to me because I love this game and I was taught to cherish every single moment because it could end at any time.”

Gain any accolades? Did you attend any camps this offseason?
“So far this year I’ve been named top county performer several times. Last year I was all-offensive honorable mention for my region in my sophomore season. I have been to several SEC and ACC camps, as well as the Georgia southern camp.”

Know your stats?
“My sophomore season I had 400+ yards and six touchdowns on the year. This season so far I have 90 carries, 789 yards and 11 touchdowns.”

Play any sports besides football?
“I run track.”

Outside of playing sports, what would you want to do for a living?
“I would want to be a doctor, nurse, or trainer involved in sports medicine.”

What is a fact about you many people that don’t know you, wouldn’t be able to guess?
“People wouldn’t have known my past. A second chance was given to me and I have taken advantage of it and tried to involve myself in helping as many people as I can.”